8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 13, 2018 3:55 AM by Martin Asztalos

Dynamic upper y-axis range for a boxplot based on a LOD calculated field

Martin Asztalos

Hello,

I am new to Tableau but already made some nice box-plot charts (almost).

We have grouped our products in a LOD function and showing the data in a box-plot chart (using the calculated field as a filter).

However, the Q3 range of boxes for different groups is quite large and therefore a fixed upper range is not applicable.

Therefore I would like to use a dynamic upper y range axis from a calculated field.

So, when I go (slider) through the different groups I want that the upper y axis range value gets changed automatically based on the value from the previously calculated field.

Can someone please help me with a step by step approach how enable a calculated field for a dynamic upper y range axis for a box plot chart?

Kind Regards

Martin

• 1. Re: Dynamic upper y-axis range for a boxplot based on a LOD calculated field
          Martin Asztalos

Hi,

Does have someone an idea how to solve this????

Kind Regards

Martin

• 2. Re: Dynamic upper y-axis range for a boxplot based on a LOD calculated field
            Jim Dehner

Good morning Martin

Please understand your question is important but without seeing the actual TWBX workbook with at least dummy data it is going to be difficult to get a response  in the detail you want

Please attach a workbook

Jim

• 3. Re: Dynamic upper y-axis range for a boxplot based on a LOD calculated field
              Martin Asztalos

Hi Jim,

Thanks for your answer ,

I will prepare a TWBX with dummy data and will post it here.

If we can solve this then my very first Tableau project is ready for public .

Martin

• 4. Re: Dynamic upper y-axis range for a boxplot based on a LOD calculated field
                Martin Asztalos

Hi Jim,

First of all - thanks so much for your support on my very basic questions.

Finally I made it to attach a TWBX file.