10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 7, 2018 3:34 AM by Rachana Parmar

Tableau Server access for client

Rachana Parmar

How to go about giving access to clients who are outside corporate network? But, they can be given added to corporate AD. When they are added to AD and they access via corporate VPN, is it as good as internal network access?

I am very new to server so any help is much appreciated.

• 1. Re: Tableau Server access for client
          Naveen B

Hi Rachana,

1) Add the users to Windows AD

2) Synchronize the users in tableau server

3) Use the DNS mapping to map the IP to you Public IP

so that whenever user enters Public address , automatically they can access out of the company network and then can only login if they added to AD

without VPN whenever they open report from internet then they need to give userid and password if its with VPN no need to creds automatically they can login with single sign on SSL

Hope this helps kindly marks this answer as correct/helpful so that it will help others

BR,

NB

• 2. Re: Tableau Server access for client
            Paulo Dantas

Hi Rachana,

this clients will go to your AD group to access Tableau Server using this access method?

If yes, they will access as internal network access.

But, what you mean internal network access?

Cheers.

• 3. Re: Tableau Server access for client
              Rachana Parmar

But, if we are using AD authentication, can they even access server without VPN?

Let's say an internal user wants to access, server - a resource on intranet. And, they are outside corp network. In that case, they first connect to corp network via VPN and then try to access server which authenticates via their AD account.

Does the same sequence of events apply to external users who have AD accounts? There will be no public address for server. It will always be internal. Is this possible?

Or, do we have to have SSL and proxy set up done? Reiterating, that there is no public access needed for the server.