1 Reply Latest reply on Aug 10, 2018 12:20 PM by Patrick A Van Der Hyde

Query - Dashboard building

Satyen Gotecha

Hey guys, I am new to Tableau and I have an requirement to build an Data Quality Dashboard. I was wondering I can get some assistance in developing this.

Details:

1st requirement - To show a visual of all fields in the table with their appropriate counts of nulls/valid values/invalid values

Table name:

Customers

Fields:

- Name

- Address

- CustomerCategory

- DOB

- CustomerType

So I want three checks with counts to be done, Nulls, Valid Values, Invalid Values

The end result I would like is a stacked bar chart (x axis - count/percentage, y axis - field name). Each bar on the chart will represent one field e.g. Name or DOB...so on and will comprise of three counts of the three checks I have mentioned above and will total up to 100%. And it will also have two filters  - activity_month, provider_code

What is the best way in doing this? And if I need to create a calculated fields what's the optimum way?

Option 1

Do I need to create a calculated field for each field for each check?

e.g. Name_null            - Total count null values
             Name_invalid       - Total count invalid values

Name_valid          - Total count valid values

CustomerCategory      - Total count null values
            CustomerCategory      - Total count invalid values

CustomerCategory      - Total count valid values

In this option this would create many calculated fields.

Option 2

Do I create three fields with their total respective counts per check for all fields:

e.g. Total_Null
             Total_Invalid
             Total_Valid

I coded this previously in SQL and brought it to Tableau data source and reliased I need row level data which is a requirement for the next visual Requirement 2

SQL example

SELECT

'CustomerCategory' AS 'field',

SUM(CASE WHEN CustomerCategory IS NULL THEN 1 ELSE 0 END) AS 'null',