8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 21, 2018 12:46 PM by waqar.ahmad.0

How to show % labels on pie charts using the sum of the measure values?

Boone McAfee

Hi,

I'm new to Tableau Public.  I created a pie chart which shows the measure values, but I also would like to display the percentage of the sum of the measure values.  Can someone explain how I might go about doing that?  I've attached a screenshot of what I have so far.

Appreciate any help!

Boone

• 1. Re: How to show % labels on pie charts using the sum of the measure values?
          Jim Dehner

see below

you can adapt sales to your measure

Jim

If this posts assists in resolving the question, please mark it helpful or as the 'correct answer' if it resolves the question. This will help other users find the same answer/resolution.  Thank you.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How to show % labels on pie charts using the sum of the measure values?
            Boone McAfee

Jim,

Thanks for responding.  I'm brand new to Tableau so at this point I don't even know all the functions of the program.  Just looking at your screenshot I don't fully understand what is being done.  I'm really looking for some step by step instruction...

Thanks

• 3. Re: How to show % labels on pie charts using the sum of the measure values?
              Venkat Thota

Go to Measure Values section, right click on SUM(Net Ethonol (mil bu)) -> Quick Table calculation -> Percent of Totals. You need to do for all other measures values.

Hope this helps.

• 4. Re: How to show % labels on pie charts using the sum of the measure values?
                Jim Dehner

first welcome to tableau

you have a pie chart that is based on sa measure and when you plotted the measure as a pie the absolute value appeared on the chart as text

what I did was add a secondary calculation that I did not plot only put on Label in the marks card

any thing placed on text will show up but can change that also