2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 27, 2018 8:12 AM by Toby Erkson

Newbie question: basic housekeeping / affects of other content on my own

Kirstin Lyon

Hi,

I'm just getting started with tableau server admin and am spending some time doing some basic housekeeping.  I have a few questions

1.  what is best practice for number of server admins on a server?  I would have thought around 3-4 - but looking for opinions.

2.  I'm assuming that I should have a policy in place that makes sure that we don't just archive content, but old content is removed regularly,   Does this actually help with performance?  or is it a way to help people find what they want?

3.  What is the cost of having too much content on a server (if any),  and what happens if 90% of the content is poorly designed.  Does that affect the content that is well designed?

4.  I'm also assuming there is a cost for if there is a time of day where a lot of people visit the server.  Is that right?

Really I'm trying to gauge how much others content / user actions on the server affects mine, and if there is any advice on how to handle this in the best way.

I'm already using the status reports, and have created a few custom admin reports.

Many thanks

Kirstin

• 1. Re: Newbie question: basic housekeeping / affects of other content on my own
          Mark McGhee

Hi Kirstin,

This may not address all your questions but at least to start the process:

(1)  Not sure there's necessarily a "rule of thumb" but definitely not a bad idea to have at least a "pool" of Tableau Server Administrators available.  For example if folks are out sick or on vacation then you'd still have resources available.  The same could be said if a Tableau Server Administrator decides to leave an organization this can be painful if they were the only one.