4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 15, 2018 8:52 AM by Jackson Forrest

Filtering causes calculation values to disappear

Jackson Forrest

I haven't been able to solve this via help sections, so hopefully I can get some help here.  I have a bar chart displaying data over time based on a calculation.  The calculation is meant to average pumpage readings on wells over specified time (monthly) then sum those averages for the month.  To do this I made a separate calculation on each well in my "WellResultCalculations" folder to get the specific values for each well.  I then made a calculation on those called "TotalAverage" that essentially looks like AVG([Well1])+AVG([Well2])+AVG([Well3]) etc... I'm sure there is a cleaner way to do this but I am just getting started with Tableau.  When I put this on the shelf all displays fine, but when I quick filter on a set that I made ("Pumpage_Set") of relevant wells, the data disappears.  The goal is to be able to select wells from the "Well" field in my data, average the readings for those wells and sum those averages for the monthly value displayed on the bar chart.

Any ideas as to why my Pumpage_Set filter clears the data when filtering on anything except all?

Tableau Version 10.5

• 1. Re: Filtering causes calculation values to disappear
          Mavis Liu

Hi Jackon,

You have nulls in your field, so please use this instead for TotalAverage which includes the zn function:

AVG(ZN([CM-1]))+AVG(ZN([CM-2]))+

AVG(ZN([CM-3]))+

AVG(ZN([CM-4]))+

AVG(ZN([CM-5]))+AVG(ZN([CM-6]))+AVG(ZN([CM-7]))+AVG(ZN([CM-8]))

+AVG(ZN([CM-9]))+AVG(ZN([CM-10]))+AVG(ZN([CM-11]))

this will work.

Thanks,

Mavis

• 2. Re: Filtering causes calculation values to disappear
            Jackson Forrest