10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 9, 2018 9:35 AM by Jim Dehner

Lining up Seasonal Variability

Garrett Joeckel

Hello,

I work in the produce business and commodity start dates shift around from year to year.  So a start date on cherries may be May 28 last year, and June 8 this year.  My goal is to line up to seasons with a DAY 1, DAY 2, etc. calculation, where DAY 1 will be the first day of shipping for each corresponding year.  Currently this is how the data looks that shows the variability for the years, the days are based on calendar years.

Again my goal is to line the data up so it looks like this (did this manually in excel):

The package workbook is attached, any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks,

Garrett

• 1. Re: Lining up Seasonal Variability
          Jim Dehner

Hi

see the attached

is this what you wanted

if so here are the formulae

all the table calcs are set like this

Jim

If this posts assists in resolving the question, please mark it helpful or as the 'correct answer' if it resolves the question. This will help other users find the same answer/resolution.  Thank you.

• 2. Re: Lining up Seasonal Variability
            Garrett Joeckel

Hi Jim,

Thanks for taking a stab at it.  I think the formulae are all functioning properly, but there are multiple months involved, so the DAY(Ship Date) on the Rows shelf is aggregating to the day level for all months, typically a cherry season is around 70-80 days, so I'm trying to show day 1 - day 80 or whatever the last day # of the longest season is.  But it does look like the 1st date of each season is showing up under day 1, except for 2018 for some reason that is showing up under day 2, something to do with how the table calc functions?

Thanks,

Garrett

• 3. Re: Lining up Seasonal Variability
              Jim Dehner

Ok - lets try this one -

it will go out past the month

here are the new formula - start date by year

running using the start date by year

start with a viz like this