11 Replies Latest reply on Jun 7, 2018 1:56 PM by Bryce Larsen

Issue with IF and THEN statement

Rohin Mahesh

I am a beginner with using Tableau. I had a quick question about why I am getting an error message. I unforunately cannot attach a workbook per company policy, but help with this statement would be very helpful:

IF([Work Item Type] = 'Task')

THEN MAX([Remaining Work])

ELSE END

I am getting an error saying: cannot mix aggregate and non aggregate functions.

Is there another way to do what I am trying to do?

• 1. Re: Issue with IF and THEN statement
          Bryce Larsen

You just need to wrap [Work Item Type] instead of an aggregate function (min, max, attr). But it depends on what your viz is. If it's row level with Work Item Type listed then this will be fine.

Otherwise you could look to do a LOD expression such as {fixed [Work Item Type]: MAX([Remaining Work])}, while adding in additional fields to fix on (group by) depending on your viz.

• 2. Re: Issue with IF and THEN statement
            arvindgarg

Try using ATTR function with work item type. Like below 

IF( ATTR([Work Item Type]) = 'Task')

THEN MAX([Remaining Work])

ELSE ..........

END

• 3. Re: Issue with IF and THEN statement
              Rohin Mahesh

Thank you for getting back. The result is not what I was expecting unfortunately. I essentially have these columns: ID, Work Item Type, Remaining Work and Effort.

I want to get the maximum Remaining Work for when the Work Item is Task. I want to be able to use the ID to find out if the Work Item Type is Task, what is the Maximum Remaining Work.

I then want a visualization with Remaining Work and Effort as the X and Y axis variables. I then wanted to data to be filled with ID. When I hover over the ID, if the Work Item Type is Task, I want to see what the maximum task would be.

I am confused as to how to tackle this problem, any help would be great!

• 4. Re: Issue with IF and THEN statement
                Rohin Mahesh