1 Reply Latest reply on May 8, 2018 10:08 AM by Nathan Mannheimer

Tableau Server API vs Web Data Connector for JSON Data

Eric Pickard

Hi everybody,

I am still relatively new to Tableau and I have recently inherited some Tableau reports that I would like to automate. I have been given some python code that currently authenticates with multiple data stores/calls APIs in our organization, aggregates data, and creates multiple JSON files containing information used for reports in Tableau. These files are hosted on separate internal urls and are updated once a day. When I download these files and then upload them to Tableau Desktop, Tableau is able to auto-detect the columns for the table. In an ideal world, we are looking for the functionally to tell Tableau the url of some json data (whether its a static file or an API) and Tableau would get the data, recognize the columns, build the table, allow us to build the visualizations/enter the correct data types for the columns, and then have Tableau be able to auto-update the report with the latest data by calling the url we provided again. (Currently I am having to update our reports by manually uploading these new json files every couple of days).