12 Replies Latest reply on May 9, 2018 2:19 AM by Johan Neutra

Add Longitude/Latitude points to Spatial Map

Johan Neutra

Dear Community,

I am very much a total beginner when it comes to working with Tableau and besides the introductory tutorials, I have not worked with the software at all. However, I would very much like to create a map from a spatial dataset and add about 100 individual marks to that map, for which I have longitude and latitude data. The spatial dataset I am using shows ethnic group settlements all over the world - but since I am only interested in looking at the three ethnic groups in Mali; data from: https://icr.ethz.ch/data/epr/geoepr/

So far, I have "succeeded" in creating a set in the spatial dataset, so that it only shows Mali and the respective three ethnic groups in Mali. Unfortunately, I am not able to then progress and add the marks from the longitude/latitude data I have. I looked at similar questions in this forum, but could not figure out how to apply it in my case.

The spatial data is structured as follows approximately as follows:

GwidStatenameFromToGroupGeometry
      432Mali1,9602,013TuaregMultipolygon

The longitude/latitude data I want to add to the map of ethnic group map of Mali is saved in an excel with two columns (lat and long).

An explanation that is understandable for a complete beginner would be appreciated

Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: Add Longitude/Latitude points to Spatial Map
          Tim Dines

Can you post the twbx of your workbook?  Is your map currently Dual Axis?  I could help if I could see what you are doing.

• 2. Re: Add Longitude/Latitude points to Spatial Map
            lovepreet kaur

Hello Johan Neutra,

Have you tried putting "Group" field in filter and then filter will show you the unique values in the group,

and after than you can choose the desired value.

Thanks,

Lovepreet

• 3. Re: Add Longitude/Latitude points to Spatial Map
              Johan Neutra