3 Replies Latest reply on May 22, 2018 3:02 PM by Mark McGhee

Users are Unable to publish in to server

Ramesh Narayanadasu

Hi,

I am new to tableau admin . just recently got a weird situation from most of the users.

server & desktop version are same : 10.0

recently no server side changes

The below situation is for most of the users (all are having publisher role) :-

case 1 : When  a user publish a workbook (with extracted data embedded) to a site , get a dialog saying that it is "sending data to server" ( almost 1 hr ). When click Cancel it brings up a dialog with publishing options and once  submit that it uploads the workbook.

case 2 : When  a user publish a workbook (with live) to a site , get a dialog saying that it is "sending data to server" ( almost 1 hr ). When click Cancel it gives below error.

(" An error occurred when publishing the workbook.")

(" An unknown error related to remote content was detected (408)")

any help really appreciable.

Thanks,

Ramesh

• 1. Re: Users are Unable to publish in to server
          Carisa Chang

Hi Ramesh,

It should not take an hour to publish to Tableau Server, I recommend you open a case with Tableau Technical Support to troubleshoot this issue. It seems as though there is serious network slowness in your network, or resource issues for Tableau Server - Support can help you figure out what the cause is.

• 2. Re: Users are Unable to publish in to server
            Ramesh Narayanadasu

Thanks for reply. i did raise support case .they are still investigating.  just for information our server configuration is like below.

1. Installed Tableau Version: 10.0
            2. Server Bit: 64-bit
            3. Processor: 4 Core
            4. RAM: 16 GB
            5. free Disk space on installed drive: 30 GB
            6. Authentication Mode: AD
            7. Users : 130
            8. Concurrent users : not more than 10