12 Replies Latest reply on Apr 20, 2018 10:55 AM by Amy Dias

Skilled Nursing Facility Continuous Stay

Amy Dias

Hi,

I am new to Tableau and am trying to determine a Skilled Nursing Facility (SNF) stay.  I have gotten as far as determining if the Stay is "New " or "Continuous" however I am at a point where I need to get the First "Claim From Date" and the last "Claim Thru Date" if the stay is labeled as "Continuous".  I can have multiple rows with "claim from date" and "claim thru date" for the same patient.  If a patient is in a SNF from 3/16/2017 thru 6/13/2017 the SNF will bill at the end of each month example:  Claim From: 3/16/2017 Claim Thru 3/31/2017, next claim for same patient would start 4/1/2017 thru 4/30/2017, then 5/1/2017 thru 5/31/2017 and continue on until the last date patient was admitted/discharged.  Therefore you you can have multiple rows with claim from date and claim thru date for the same patient.  I have a attached an example of what I have accomplished so far.  Any assistance would be much appreciated.

• 1. Re: Skilled Nursing Facility Continuous Stay
          swaroop.gantela

Amy,

Welcome to the Forums.

I'm not sure that I fully caught the gist,

but in the workbook attached in the Forum Thread

is a method for getting the length of a continous stay.

The main goal is to get the First Date and Last Date

on the same row so that the difference in dates can

be calculated. (These steps can probably be condensed.)

[FirstFromDate]: If marked as continuous, then get the previous ClaimFromDate:

IF [Continued]="Continuous" AND LOOKUP([Continued],-1)="New"

THEN LOOKUP(ATTR([Claim From Date]),-1)

END

[LastThruDate]: Likewise, if this is the last Continuous, then get the ClaimThruDate:

IF [Continued]="Continuous" AND LAST()=0

OR [Continued]="Continuous" AND LOOKUP([Continued],1)="New"

THEN ATTR([Claim Thru Date])

END

[FirstDateCalc]: Spread the [FirstFromDate] across the all the continuous rows:

IF NOT(ISNULL([FirstFromDate]))