6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 16, 2018 10:36 AM by Jim Dehner

Adding data to data sources sources

sean penner

Hello,

I am new to Tableau. We utilize a front end system that does not connect directly to tableau. As such, I have to run reports in excel from the system to connect to tableau. I would need to add new data each month to the existing data source.

For example, I would run a sales report for January and build my dashboard around this data. Once the dashboard is created, I would just need to continue to add data to the data source (i.e. February, March, etc.)

What is the best way to handle adding data to a manual data source each month?

Thanks,

Sean

• 1. Re: Adding data to data sources sources
          Jim Dehner

Good morning and welcome to Tableau

I would suggest wild card unions of the data files is the most used approach

see the link below

Union Your Data

Jim

If this posts assists in resolving the question, please mark it helpful or as the 'correct answer' if it resolves the question. This will help other users find the same answer/resolution.  Thank you.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Adding data to data sources sources
            Mike Mainzer

If you're simply adding records to the same table/file in excel, tableau will maintain it's connection to that data source as long as you don't change its location. All of your reports/dashboards in tableau will update whenever you update the underlying data source.

In order to see the updated data in tableau, you can manually refresh or set up automated refreshes.

• 3. Re: Adding data to data sources sources
              sean penner