3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 10, 2018 2:59 PM by Jim Dehner

Preparing Excel Data for a Visualization of Revenue from Two Departments for Multiple Clients in Tableau Desktop 10.5

Rebecca James

Hi,

I am very new to Tableau – I have a bit of Software experience – but feel a bit clueless with Tableau as I try to accomplish specific tasks. For my learning purposes, I realize that I am generally ok in terms of what to do with visualizations, and my challenges lie in preparing / cleaning the data in a way that it makes sense and makes it compatible with Tableau for said visualizations.

Background: I work for a small legal firm that is transitioning from a paper and pencil kind of firm with respect to forecasting or analytical methods in place to a firm that is trying to implement software like Tableau to do some of that stuff for us. I transitioned from another role in the firm to this, and my current job is to learn Tableau so we can hopefully implement it down the road – so all and any help is much appreciated as I begin to learn.

Here is my current project. We do revenue recovery for medical providers, and the current data source is the revenue generated for 12 clients, from the years 2007-2017. The revenue generated is from two different departments (two different legal areas), and department 1 is broken down into “Settled” and “Awarded” indicating the manner in which the revenue was generated for that department.

Each of the 12 clients have their own table, and each table contains 6 columns.

·        Year

·        Department 1 Settled

·        Department 1 Awarded

·        Department 1 Total (Dept. Settled + Dept. Awarded)

·        Department 2 Total

·        Grand Total

Not all tables have data for all years, depending on when they became and client and if/when they stopped being a client.

This is a sample of how the data looks at present (There are 12 tables like this):

Sample Table for Tableau.png