5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 29, 2018 8:45 AM by Joe Oppelt

Using Lookup and Grand Total in calculation formula

Barry Sheridan

Hi,

I am new to using Tableau, and I am trying to make a calculation row below grand total.

The row will take will take the count of null values of each month from the grand total.

I presume the best way would be to use the lookup function(Contains "Null").  Or could I use an offset ?

I would appreciate some help with the syntax of the calculation field.

• 1. Re: Using Lookup and Grand Total in calculation formula
          Joe Oppelt

There are a couple of "it-depend"s to answer your question.

Can you upload a sample workbook?

• 2. Re: Using Lookup and Grand Total in calculation formula
            Barry Sheridan

Hi Joe.  Sorry, I wont be able to use the workbook above as it is sensitive data.  Would you able to tell me some things I must consider first ?

Is it actually possible to use the grand total as I wish to ?

• 3. Re: Using Lookup and Grand Total in calculation formula
              Joe Oppelt

Too many "what-if"s.

Consider anonymizing your workbook:

Anonymize your Tableau Package Data for Sharing

Or hack up a similar example using Superstore.

The screen shot doesn't tell me anything about what fields are dimensions and which are measures, for example.  (I can deduce some, but not enough to answer anything.)

I can tell you this:  You're going to end up making a second sheet with the totals, and positioning it on a dashboard so it is abutting the original data sheet.

• 4. Re: Using Lookup and Grand Total in calculation formula
                Barry Sheridan