5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2018 3:43 PM by sunil.sachdeva

Subtraction of overallocation from day before

giulia.bartoletti

Hello everyone,

I am pretty new in working with Tableau ( 1month) and i can't come up with a solution for my problem. I know it will be better to add few data, but unfortunately i can't share it.

Data: from different origin of goods and different destinations there is a limit per week and per day of how much weight is possible to have.

For example. Origin Russia and destination FR is 100Ton, Origin Russia and destination USA is 80ton, Origin China and destination USA is 150ton etc. etc.

Calculation Field (1)  done as following:  IF [Origin] AND [Destination] THEN 100

ELSE IF [Origin] AND [Destination] THEN 200

Calculation Field (1) in Reference Line as Minimum. this is the bar chart that i got (just 2 lines as example):

Tableau 1.PNG

Dest. country - axes Weight (in ton) and the reference line showing the limit. This Table is ok.

1. Question: I would like to have in red the one that the limit for the week has been over exceed. I tried to do calculation: [weight]>calculation field (1) THEN 0 ELSE 1 but it doesn't work. it just give me 1 while there should be also 0. How can I do it?

Data: Limitation per day is kind similar to the week limitation but if for example Origin Russia and Destination USA we have per day 50 ton max of weight:

Mon 45 ton

Tue 55 ton

Wed (we will have only 45ton available and not 50 because the day before we got more then the limit per day).

2. Question: I would like to show when per day we exceed the limit but considering that they have to: [day before exceed limit] - [the limit per day]. Following the example before 55 (of tuesday) - 50 (the limit per day)=5 on Wed i have as a limit 45. I tried to do the calculation but instead of doing the sum[weight]*that day (only monday for example). it did it per each rows.