4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 7, 2018 10:49 AM by Preetam Jawaria

Do organisations upgrade every version of Tableau frequently when it comes with some changes?

Preetam Jawaria

I need to understand this because I am new to tableau and I can see Tableau releases it's upgraded versions so frequently.

So how upgrading is being followed in real time in organisations ?

• 1. Re: Do organisations upgrade every version of Tableau frequently when it comes with some changes?
          Donna Coles

Hi Preetam

How organisations manage their upgrade schedule will vary for a variety of reasons - size of organisation, resource availabilty, attitude to risk, potential impact/disruption to business, benefits of upgrade.

I work for a company with approx 2000 employees  and we have a single server with core licensing, which means everyone has the potential to access content on the server. We're currently on v10.1.1 having last upgraded in Jan 2017.  Prior to that we'd upgraded in Aug 2015.  I'm in the process of planning an upgrade now and was hoping it would have been done in Feb, but that's now unlikely to happen due to other demands on my time, and the availability of others.  I'm hopeful it will still be done this year, but there are limited windows of opportunity due to the reliance the business has on the server at key times throughout the calendar year.  Whilst we have had a proven track record of upgrading the server smoothly, any upgrade always comes with a risk that the upgrade may not go as planned meaning reports may not be available/work as expected.

As a company we're also 'risk averse' so will always wait until there's a minor point release following a major release eg we'd wait for v10.5.1 rather than v10.5.0.  However knowing Tableau's regular release schedule, we know this is never that far away, so can start the planning before then.