6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 21, 2017 4:50 PM by Toby Erkson

Using environmental variables in extract properties?

Rebecca McKinney

Hola - I'm a new Tableau Server admin, and cannot find any reference to using env variables rather than host in extract properties?  Here's the scenario:

1. Installed v10.4 on a new server, and restored backup from old v9.2 server as per vendor documentation to get our content

2. Data sources include Extracts located on old server, therefore content on new v10.4 server is pointing to data sources on old server

3. When we move extracts to new server, I need to mass update data sources to look at new location - is there a good way to do this?

4. If there is no good way to do this, I'd like to use an env variable on the server, so that if we move servers again, I can use same variable from server to server - has anyone done this?

Thanks for your help!

Rebecca

• 1. Re: Using environmental variables in extract properties?
          Toby Erkson

Rebecca McKinney wrote:

2. Data sources include Extracts located on old server, therefore content on new v10.4 server is pointing to data sources on old server

This is no bueno.  Extracts (I'm assuming you mean .tde files) should be moved off the Tableau Server.  Disk space on the TS is for TS-use only, not as someone's personal data store.  Actually, extracts can be published into the TS using tabcmd publish...a much better solution.

• 2. Re: Using environmental variables in extract properties?
            Rebecca McKinney

No, the extracts are, e.g., csv, files in a particular folder on the d: drive.  We cannot connect tableau to many production dbs, so we run batch jobs to get the data, and the results, such as csv files, are saved in a folder on the server and used as a data source.

• 3. Re: Using environmental variables in extract properties?
              jegan.sivaraj