8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 25, 2017 1:28 PM by Michel Caissie

Conditional Formatting for 1 Measure Within 2 Dimensions

wasseem el khatib

Hi,

I am relatively new to Tableau and I am stuck with this problem. I am sure there is way this can be done on Tableau but I am having a very hard time.

I basically have the below data source:

AreaSourceCostHours
      1Budget55
      2Budget210
      3Budget32
      4Budget47
      5Budget83
      6Budget103
      1Actual65
      2Actual310
      3Actual22
      4Actual37
      5Actual83
      6Actual123

Translating to the below Cost/Hour for Each Area on Tableau.

My question is...how can I make the colors of the line change depending on if it is higher or lower than budget? i.e in area 6, id like the line to be red because the wage is higher.

Workbook and data attached.

Thanks!!!!

• 1. Re: Conditional Formatting for 1 Measure Within 2 Dimensions
          Michel Caissie

wasseem,

For each Area, you have two marks. As you can see on Sheet 2, if you put Source on the color shelf each mark with half of the line gets a different color.

Now you want to compute the Wage diff, and set a color based on the result on both marks within an Area.

This means that for each Area you need  both wages available for each mark.

Currently , on  Area 6 - Source Actual  the Budget wage is null so you cant compute the diff and set the color accordingly.

So you need lod. Using the FIXED function you can compute each wage value per Area and compute the difference with the following calculation.

Use this on the Color shelf and set the color accordingly.

if

{FIXED [Area]: SUM( if  [Source]  = 'Actual' then [Cost] end ) } / {FIXED [Area]: SUM( if  [Source]  = 'Actual' then [Hours] end ) }

-

{FIXED [Area]: SUM( if  [Source]  = 'Budget' then [Cost] end ) } / {FIXED [Area]: SUM( if  [Source]  = 'Budget' then [Hours] end ) }

> 0 then 'Red' else 'Green' end

See in the attached

Michel

2 of 2 people found this helpful