5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 6, 2017 2:32 PM by Matt Coles

Unable to connect to Tableau Server via VizAlertsConfig

evan.pickett

Hi, I'm trying to install VizAlerts. We have Tableau Server 10.3 running on a single Win7 machine. I run Win10 locally, Tableau Desktop 10.3. I would like to use VizAlerts to send emails to (several dozen) users who do not have Tableau Desktop or Tableau Server accounts. I had previously done this with Outlook auto-forwards, but they stopped working. Months of work on _that_ hasn't established RC and so I am pursuing a workaround. Enter VizAlerts.

I downloaded the .zip of VizAlerts 2.1.0. I've never used it before. I started running the config. The documentation states that PostgresQL is required. I don't know what PostgresQL is. The Drivers page (Driver Download | Tableau Software ) is a circular reference for Tableau Desktop 10.3; it just refers itself back to itself as opposed to offering a download. PostgresQL _should be_ installed by default with Tableau Server. Is there a way to check this? Do I need to install something else?

I went through the config. When I got to "Open the VizAlertsConfig Workbook," I ran into program. On step 7, this error appears:

• could not connect to server: Connection timed out (0x0000274C/10060) Is the server running on host "hostname" (host_ip) and accepting TCP/IP connections on port 8060?
      • Unable to connect to the server "hostname". Check that the server is running and that you have access privileges to the requested database.

(The hostname and IP correctly point to our in-house Win7 Tableau Server computer.)

I am able to publish to this computer, connect to it via remote desktop, run tabadmin, etc. I am our company's IT and DB depts; there are no other employees I can refer to for help.

Any help on this would be appreciated, as fixing the emails is a months-old action item from my boss that Microsoft has been unable to address.

Thanks,

Evan