4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 3, 2017 5:22 AM by Niranjan Patil

How to add Action filter on tabular data for drill down and to show/ hide tabular data format?

Niranjan Patil

Hello,

I am new to Tableau.

I have one master data set which contains data of other source tables .Master table contains only few attributes(columns) information from source tables and it is identified by the column name called 'Source Type' in the master table.

My requirement is to filter out the data from master table when user clicks on particular row and to show only related information from source table.

I have done this using below steps:

Step 1 : Created tabular details worksheets for each of the tables.(In my example 4 sheets includes 1 master and 3 other source sheets).

Step 2 : Added Free text search box using parameter on master table to allow user to search. (on all columns).

Step 3 : Created Dashboard and added master sheet on top in one  container. And then added source sheets on top of each other using other layout container just below master details container.

Step 4 : Added action filter (source : master table and Target: All other source sheets).

As per my understanding, Action filter of Tableau works by looking at common dimension in respective tables. Similar to the where condition using "AND" and then filter out the data. Is that correct ?

Now user can apply search on master tables and get interested information. And if user wants to drill down for further information which is present in there respective source tables, user clicks on row and he should be able to see particular information right below from source table.

Here is output screen from dashboard  which I am looking for :

Screenshot_2.PNG