7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 9, 2017 12:20 PM by Carol Ramey

Something Strange About My Dataset

Carol Ramey

I'm new to Tableau and I feel like I might need to find a really good therapist. It is not going well.

I'm starting with simple line graphs, but they aren't working. The examples I find all use sales data. Yeah sales! My data are all boolean and the results I want to show are mostly percents. I think Tableau is good at using lots of raw numerical data and generating formulas from that, where the percents are built into the graph. I have no raw numerical data. Strange, huh?

Since Tableau seems super confused about what to do with boolean raw data, I created formulas in Excel to calculate percentages and I'm just trying to plot the percentages on a simple line chart and that doesn't work either. This is an example below. The numbers are pulled from the simplest of Excel files with one row per year with two percentages per row for two measures. I have to use Average for the measure, even though I'm not averaging anything, there is only one value for each year/measure type. Now I can't get the text "Avg." out of the legend. Any ideas?

I'm having trouble with all of my charts, most which seem to come back to the idea that my raw data are booleans and not numbers. Do you have general ideas for how much trouble I'm in for?

Any ideas are appreciated.

Carol in Texas

Screen Shot 2017-08-08 at 8.44.59 PM.png

UPDATE:

I have added a packaged workbook. The sheet I'm working on now is Sheet 12. I have a filter for High School. My columns is School Year. I have two measures: 1+ CS Course and CS Req Met, which report on boolean fields in 1 and 0 format and using SUM on those fields to get the count. The CS Req Met line is correct, but the 1+CS Course line isn't. The values, according to the raw spreadsheet, using filters and formulas to confirm, are:

Screen Shot 2017-08-09 at 12.24.05 PM.png

Any ideas what I'm missing?

Thank you.

Carol