3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 25, 2017 4:57 AM by Donna Coles

Permission Setting for Data Sources

Frank Hecker

I am new to Tableau and have a quite basic question: I want to set a permission that restricts a user from publishing a data source. I would expect that the following setting would do the trick for "Relevant User", but it doesn't. He is still able to publish data sources to the "myGroup"-Project. What am I missing?

Tableau-Security.png

• 1. Re: Permission Setting for Data Sources
          Donna Coles

Hi Frank

I'm not certain on this as I haven't tested, but I think if you expand the Project section of the permission, you'll probably have Save enabled there.  I think this means you're giving the user rights to save into the Project area (which is what you want if you want them to save workbooks to the project).

However, the Save permission on the data source area is just grey rather than a red cross, which makes me think the user is 'inheriting' the right to Save a datasource because he has Save rights on the Project.  To stop him saving a data source to the project I think you want to keep clicking the Save permission under the datasource until you make it a red cross (like you can see in the section above).  This should explicitly deny him the right.

Let me know if that works

Thanks

Donna

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Permission Setting for Data Sources
            Frank Hecker

Hi Donna,

I think you are halfway right. After taking up your hint and a little bit of further testing, my understanding has changed to the following:

The rights assigned on the "projects" section are not refined on the "workbooks" and "data source" section, they rather refer to a completely different aspect: