4 Replies Latest reply on May 2, 2018 8:45 AM by Jason Scarlett

How to extract each number between ( ) in string using REGEXP_EXTRACT_NTH?

rowe.palmer

I would like to use REGEXP_EXTRACT_NTH (or better method) to obtain every number that appears within brackets in a string.

E.g.

"I require an expression which can find numbers (10) throughout a string (11) at any location (12)." >> 10, 11, 12

"It must skip numbers 32 that are not within (4) brackets in a string 2 with many (99) possible other characters." >> 4, 99

"(21)(33)" >> 21, 33

"Plain string" >>

I'm new to regular expressions but so far I have managed to find the first occurrence using:

REGEXP_EXTRACT_NTH([String],"\((\d*?)\)",1)

but I would like to find the nth occurrence and the above returns NULL for anything above 1

REGEXP_EXTRACT_NTH([String], <expresion>, nth)

I've tried variants of patterns for before and after but cannot seem to hit the mark.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Rowe

• 1. Re: How to extract each number between ( ) in string using REGEXP_EXTRACT_NTH?
          rowe.palmer

Mission 2 is to obtain the content before each number up to nth occurrence to be associated with the number extracted above.

E.g.

"I require an expression which can find numbers (10) throughout a string (11) at any location (12)." >>

"I require an expression which can find numbers", "throughout a string", "at any location", "."

"It must skip numbers 32 that are not within (4) brackets in a string 2 with many (99) possible other characters." >>

"It must skip numbers 32 that are not within", "brackets in a string 2 with many", "possible other characters."

• 2. Re: How to extract each number between ( ) in string using REGEXP_EXTRACT_NTH?
            Jeff D

Hi Rowe,

Is it possible to pre-process the data before loading it into Tableau?