2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 10, 2017 12:43 AM by Bernard Douthit

What-if Analysis question - base fee vs. variable price calculation for large amounts of data

Bernard Douthit

All,

I am a relative newbie to Tableau, but I love it already.

I am working on some what-if analysis and I have a table set up in my workbook that shows data somewhat like this:

Total Orders (Sum)         Current Price (measure)      Proposed New Price with X% increase   Proposed New Price - Base Fee Only       Total Revenue Current      Total Proj. Revenue

Customer A

Customer B

Customer C

The dataset I'm pulling from has 600,000+ rows - not unusual.  Each customer may have 1 to multiple orders of different quantities in a given month   My data is currently summarized for 2016, but I do have monthly detail that I am not using right now.

I have created 2 new parameters for what-if price changes:

1.  For a price with % increase and

2.  Another for a base fee price.   The base fee would get charged to the customer if he/she does not hit the revenue minimum in a given month or year.

I want to compare total current revenue and new revenue, but the base fee should only kick in if the customer's revenue is below the base fee. 

Let's say customer A buys 5 orders for $2.00 in 2016, total revenue would be $10, but if I set the Base Fee to $25, the customers revenue should be $25 as orders x price is less than the Base Fee.

Customer B buys 30 orders for $2.00 = $60, so he would be charged $60 as it is exceeds the base fee.

The function I am trying to write would charge them the maximum of these 2 values, i.e. Max (Orders x Proposed Price, Base Fee)

I've tried using the Max function and making the base fee an attribute and also doing an IF, THEN function to get this to work, but none of them do.  It seems that the Base Fee keeps getting tied back to each order line instead of each unique customer. 

I think the way to solve this is with the Include LOD function, but I'm not 100% sure.