6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 4, 2017 12:42 PM by Debasish PaiMazumder

calculate number days exceeding certain thresholds

Debasish PaiMazumder

Hello All,

I am a newbie in Tableau. I have developed a daily map of temperature (Please see the attached) for three months. Now I would like to calculate number of days (out of specific period) temperature greater certain thresholds. My filters will be dates and thresholds.

For example - out of three months (92 days), I could choose specific period (25 day period) in the filter to calculate number days out of 25 days temperature greater certain thresholds.

Another filter will be single value slider for different thresholds.

Any advice?

with regards

-Deb

• 1. Re: calculate number days exceeding certain thresholds
          Brian Dudley

Consider using a parameter for the threshold value. Then you can add a calculated column that determines, for each record, if it exceeds the threshold -- returning a 1 or 0 is probably best. Then this field can be summed based on the date filter and any level of detail selections.

Trying to handle the temperature threshold with a filter, I believe, would be considerably more difficult.

• 2. Re: calculate number days exceeding certain thresholds
            Debasish PaiMazumder

Hi Brian,

Thanks for your response. I am able to follow first two steps. I need little help in step 3 - "Then this field can be summed based on the date filter and any level of detail selections." How do I resolve this step?

with regards

-Deb

• 3. Re: calculate number days exceeding certain thresholds
              Debasish PaiMazumder

Hi Brian,

Thanks for your response. I am able to follow first two steps (attached). I need little help in step 3 - "Then this field can be summed based on the date filter and any level of detail selections." How do I resolve this step?

with regards

-Deb

• 4. Re: calculate number days exceeding certain thresholds
                Brian Dudley