1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Apr 13, 2017 4:56 PM by Debasish PaiMazumder

Multidimensional array

Debasish PaiMazumder

Hi

I am quite new in Tableau. I am wondering how does tableau handle multidimensional array.

I have an array with dimension US county X time (daily data for three month = 92). I am preparing a *.csv file so that tableau can read the file.

What would be the best format of the file -

lat lon county time1 time2 time3..........time92

or

time lat lon county value

time1

time1

:

:

time2

time2

:

:

time92

with regards

-Deb

• 1. Re: Multidimensional array
          Luciano Vasconcelos

It would be better if this array were only one field with separators in order to Tableau pivot your data.

• 2. Re: Multidimensional array
            Kaz Shakir

Debasish,

The general rule with data in databases is that "Tall & Thin" is a better format than "Short & Wide."  That's not always the case.  In your exapmple, I would go with your second approach where each row represnts a unique combination of time and country.  You could also remove the lattitude and longitude values from this table (so that you just have Time, Country, Value), and create a second table that just has Country, Lat, Lon in it, and then join the two tables in Tableau on the Country field.  Lastly, depending on how you want your report to look in Tableau, you might need a "Calendar" table, where the columns would be Date, Day, Month, Quarter, Year - where there would be a row for each day of every year you have in your data, and you would categorize each day as to which month it belongs to, which quarter it belongs to and which year it belongs to - this makes it easier to do roll-ups based on these different categories.  And then you would join this calendar table to your main table where the Time columne would equal the Date column.

Hope that's helpful.

Kaz.

• 3. Re: Multidimensional array
              Debasish PaiMazumder