6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 23, 2017 4:20 AM by Okechukwu Ossai

Creating a gantt chart with stacked bars

Kiki Mul

Dear Tableau Community,

I am new to tableau and have the following data set:

And am trying to create the following output:

I found some posts asking similar questions, but in all cases the solution was to change the source data. This is not an option for me, as the source data is generated by another tool. Is there another way, than changing the source data?

Thanks,

Kiki

• 1. Re: Creating a gantt chart with stacked bars
          Okechukwu Ossai

There are so many things you can do. You won't change the source data. It will only require slight data preparation by adjusting the data structure to enable Tableau produce the charts.

For example you can't produce a Gantt chart in Tableau if you don't have Start Date and End Date as separate fields or a single field. This will help you to caculate Duration in days. You will still need another field combining Manufacturing, Testing and Shipping as subcategories before you can use it to color the chart.

All these can be done quite easily. To start I will like to know few things about your data set. How does your data get into Tableau? Is it through an Excel data source or a SQL database?

Ossai

• 2. Re: Creating a gantt chart with stacked bars
            Kiki Mul

HI Ossai,

It is through Google sheets, but for simplicity we can assume it is Excel.

Please see attached Excel sheet.

Thanks!

K.

• 3. Re: Creating a gantt chart with stacked bars
              Okechukwu Ossai

I'll take a look and get back to you.

Ossai

• 4. Re: Creating a gantt chart with stacked bars
                Okechukwu Ossai

Hi Kiki,

I have a solution for you by using Custom SQL to automatically reshape the data whilst it is being loaded into Tableau.

This is important because data must be in the right format, otherwise certain analysis will be impossible in Tableau.