12 Replies Latest reply on Mar 20, 2017 5:12 AM by Scott Dexter

Change Background Color

Scott Dexter

From the sheet below I am trying to get the green area to change from green to red in the event a condition is not met. I.E. If the Mac Margin Percent > KPI Value then 'Green' ELSE 'Red' END is the formula I am using but it doesn't seem to change the color if I change the data or if I change the > to < which it should as that is how I test it. Now I know Count distinct is not the correct aggregation to use here but when I change off of it everything goes white. so I am at a loss here. I am new to tableau and am completely self taught, if you have a simple explanation as to what I should do here please let me know. This is probably something very simple.

• 1. Re: Change Background Color
          Deepak Rai

Hi Scott,

See the Screenshots, It Changes Color based upon your Values.

MMP>KPI is RED

MMP<KPI is Green

Hope it Helps!!!

Thanks

Deepak

• 2. Re: Change Background Color
            Scott Dexter

Deepak, I appreciate you taking the time to look into my question, your answer however is beyond me. I have no idea what you mean with this, if you could send the workbook back with the solution I can diagnose how to re-create your proposed answer. When I change KPI Color it does nothing in my sheet, not to mention I don't understand even remotely how this could possibly work and be flexible enough to take changing values over time as our goals are put together by month and the performance is measured the same way.

Thank you,

Scott

• 3. Re: Change Background Color
              Deepak Rai

Hi Scott,

The calculation KPI Color would act to change colors in view based upon the result of Calculation. Try changing your values , it will change color. My Solution is in 10.2. and is attached.

thanks

Deepak

• 4. Re: Change Background Color
                Scott Dexter