5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 12, 2017 4:10 PM by susheela.hegde

How to Calculate the grand total dynamically for measure values

susheela.hegde

Hi,

I am new to tableau and I am working on Cubed data. I cannot copy the workbook because it has propitiatory data.

My requirement is to show  how  each measures perform in bar chart( basically have the measure values and filter the measures accordingly) and calculate grand total of it dynamically. I am stuck in calculating grand total dynamically for measure values. How Can I achieve this?

Or is there any other way to do this? I have say 10 measures, but i want to display 4 and grand total of 4. If i want to see 6, then 6 measures visualization and grand total of 6 measures.

Any help is appreciated.

• 1. Re: How to Calculate the grand total dynamically for measure values
          Jim Dehner

Hi

I am going to attach a t10.1 workbook - don't know what version you are on - you may not be able to open it -

I will walk you through some vies here but I suggest you spend some time with the training videos at Tableau Training and Tutorials

Really a good place to get started:

All the examples use Superstore data that is delivered with you copy of tableau

Below is a most basic text table

See the SHOW ME panel at the right - it is a drop down that can be used at any time to show you how to construct a basic viz

The Text table is just a matrix with dates for columns and the product categories for rows (just drag the the dimension label rows shelf

I added sales by double clicking the Measure SALES and letting it populate the matrix

The Grand Totals are added by going to the analytics tab on the left panel and dragging the TOTAL icon on to the view and dropping it on columns

The view below converted the text table to a stacked bar chart by Opening the Show Me and clicking on the stacked bar

Then to see a side by side bar v years I took the same table and clicked on the side by side bars on the show me