8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 6, 2017 5:48 PM by Lisa Connelly

Aggregating Sets - best options?

Lisa Connelly

Hi-

I'm a total Tableau newbie and not a statistician so bear with me. My company has a number of retail locations around the country. We offer multiple program types to customers of those locations. I am trying to get a count of specific program customers by each retail location.

I have started out by creating SETS of each program type.

Then I created a calculated field to COUNT the number of customers in each of those SETS.

Then I place them on my canvas where I have already added the retail location in rows.

The result I receive is not what I expect. I expect to see varying numbers of customers within each SET per location. However, I'm seeing the same number of customers per SET for each location. I feel like there is a simple solution to this, but I can't see it. Am I using the wrong calculation function? Any help would be much appreciated...

• 1. Re: Aggregating Sets - best options?
          Patrick A Van Der Hyde

Lisa,

What happens when Location is placed on Rows and Program is placed on Columns with a Count(customer id) in the view?  I have attached a Superstore sample view of something like this.  Just wondering whty this does not work?  If there is something about the data throwing off the expected results?

The example is done in Tableau 10.2. 

If you have a bit of sample data to show the issues that you are running into or worse case, a picture.  That would help a lot. 

Patrick 

• 2. Re: Aggregating Sets - best options?
            Jim Dehner

Hi Lisa - And hi Patrick -