5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 17, 2017 10:43 AM by Yingying Zeng

Confusing values of the measure filter

Yingying Zeng

I am studying the the order of operations and reading the below article with the workbook( the twbx book is attached  as well)

In the sheet 'Solution by Measure + Table Calc Filters' I do not understand why the sum(order of orders) is not the 5009 but the value range from 1 to 17?

Please kindly advise!!! Thanks in advance

*** link and content I was reading

Vizible Difference: The Order of Operations within Dimension and Set Filters

4.Conclusion

By understanding the order of operations of the dimension and set filters, we can create filters in a compact way, instead of creating individual calculated fields as filter or setting up advanced table calculations. Here is a workbook comparing various ways of implementing the same filter.

Sum(count of orders)2.png

SUM(count of orders).png

Simon Runc

Simon, could you please help me to have a look at it  when you have time ?

http://vizdiff.blogspot.com/2015/12/the-order-of-operations-within.html#!/2015/12/the-order-of-operations-within.html

• 1. Re: Confusing values of the measure filter
          Simon Runc

howdy!

In the sheet 'Solution by Measure + Table Calc Filters' I do not understand why the sum(order of orders) is not the 5009 but the value range from 1 to 17?

...So this is because a FIXED LoD is returned at Row Level (at the specified level, Customer in our case). This means, although the value is determined by an Aggregate (COUNTD) the FIXED LoD, the result is run by customer (irrelevant of the level of detail in the Viz) and then returned at the customer level...So the dimension has values ranging from 1-17 (if this was just COUNTD([OrderID]) the range would depend on the VizLoD)