2 Replies Latest reply on Feb 14, 2017 12:34 PM by Maddy Pena

Trouble Combining Actual & Budget Data (Different sheets)

Maddy Pena

Hello guys!

I'm trying to create a dashboard that shows the actual vs budget in a crosstable, something like this:

Where the actual values are shown on the corresponding month and the rest of the year shows the budget values. I have all the concepts listed and the budget values from Jan-14 to Dec-17 in one sheet. To create a Budget measure, I created a pivot on these values.

But when I want to create a join with the actual data (of which I only have Jan-17 values), the data is multiplied along the all time period of the budget data:

I'm fairly new at these type of dashboards, and I don't know how combine the data, and I'm not sure how to work with dates, as I need both measures, but the detail of one of them is by day, and the other is by month.

Any tips would be appreciated. Thanks!

• 1. Re: Trouble Combining Actual & Budget Data (Different sheets)
          Jamieson Christian

Maddy,

Given that BUDGET is defined at the month level and ACTUAL is defined at the day level — two different levels-of-detail (LODs) — I recommend that you use Data Blending rather than row-level table joins. Data Blending allows you to aggregate before joining, which is helpful for resolving data sources that are at different LODs.

Attached is a workbook (version 10.1.4) where I attempted to a Data Blending approach. Here's what I did:

1. Bring in BW and Budget as 2 separate data sources.

2. Pivot Budget so that all the months are their own rows.

3. Create a calculated field [Join month] in both data sources. For BW, this is just DATETRUNC('month',[Calendar Day]). For Budget, this is DATEPARSE('MMM-yy',[Month Year]) — where [Month Year] is what I called the Pivot field that contains the budget months.

4. Set up [Concept] and [Join month] as Data Relationships.