7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 17, 2017 1:19 AM by Benjamin Söllner

Admins, Do You Let Publishers Publish Directly to PROD?

Benjamin Söllner

Hi all!

I am a platform architect and will be handling over my Tableau Installation pretty soon from one operations team & lead administrator to another one.

We have a fairly small Installation with only a few critical projects, most reports deployed to our server are not business critical. Still, we have a full-featured DEV, INT and PROD installation because we want to roll out platform upgrades in a smooth way through all three environments providing ample time for testing.

Right now, all users can deploy their workbooks to whichever environment they want. They can follow their project-specific staging patterns or deploy directly to PROD. My new admin, however, suggests that we "lock down" INT & PROD and work with ticket systems, screening individual workbooks on INT before migrating them to PROD. I am not a fan of this proposal: not only would it require large efforts, additional infrastructure and staff, it would slow down iterating on workbooks with live data a lot (no "analysis at the speed of thought" anymore). I think it would disappoint a lot of our users.

I would be interested in hearing a few "third" opinions from as many of you as possible. Here are some guiding questions.

1. Did you open all environments up to your publishers, including PROD or do you have custom/scripted deployment process?
      2. Was there an event in your history with Tableau that made you reconsider how "open" you leave platforms for this kind of "self-service"?
      3. Did you establish checklists for staging between DEV-INT-PROD? Any things that should definitely be on those checklists? Who enforces them?
      4. What is the worst that can happen with a faulty workbook? Can it poison a shared Tableau server enough to make it practically unusable (given workbooks live in different sites)?