9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 19, 2017 7:13 AM by Jamieson Christian

Multiple Else if in a calculated field

Sameer Mehrotra

Hi,

I am a beginner to Tableau and looking for some help with IF/ELSEIF function for calculated fields. I am currently using 10.0.1 version of Tableau Desktop.

I want to create a Calculated field 'Workforce Category' based on different combination of values in 3 existing fields:

1. Emp Flag
      2. Category1
      3. JFF Type

All together their are 8 possible Categories. Below is the formula that I have tried. I have only gone up to 4 categories in the below formula as I noticed I am not getting anything after the first 2 categories (A & B) and then everything else is getting bucketed into the last category.

Can I please get some help with it? Can I only use one ELSEIF instance or have I written the formula wrong? I have done lot of google search and searched this community as well but couldn't find the answer to my question.

I can confirm there is definitely data for all these categories as I have checked the raw data manually.

Here is the formula I have written:

Thank you for the help in advance.

Regards

Sameer

• 1. Re: Multiple Else if in a calculated field
          Chris McClellan

Personally, I would write the CONTAINS function the other way, as in CONTAINS([JFF Type], "search string"), but that's not going to fix your problem.

To help debug, I would create a new sheet that shows [Emp Flag], [Category1], [JFF Type] and [Workforce Category] - is there a trailing space ? are all the upper/lower case correct ?, etc. ...

But to answer your other question, there is no limit to the number of ELSEIFs you can have in your formula.

• 2. Re: Multiple Else if in a calculated field
            Sameer Mehrotra

Hi Chris thank you so much for taking your time to look at my question. I will double check my formulas to make sure there are no issues with spacing or case etc.