8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 12, 2017 1:14 PM by suhas doke

Getting Duplicate Entries with 1 to Many Relationship

Paul Heering

I am new to tableau and I am not a database expert so excuse me if this is a simple question or if I am using the wrong terminology (corrections are welcome).

I have a data source that is set up like the explanation below (image)

Screen Shot 2017-01-12 at 8.04.22 AM.png

I can't get the desired final result.  I can get the following things (neither works for me)...

A.  10 rows of data but each row only shows one code label

B.  30 rows of data with each billing entry repeating 3 times (because each has 3 code labels)

I tried the steps outlined in the link below but it didn't work for me.  I am not sure if I didn't follow the steps correctly or it is the wrong steps.

Linking Tables Using One-to-Many Relationships | Tableau Software

I am using tableau 9.3.3 on a Mac and I have attached a packaged workbook.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Paul

• 1. Re: Getting Duplicate Entries with 1 to Many Relationship
          Wim Kegels

Hi Paul,

Getting 30 rows seems to offer the best analytic experience in this case.  By joining on code ID I managed to create following view:

Are there specific reasons why you'd like to only have 10 rows?

Kind regards,

Wim

• 2. Re: Getting Duplicate Entries with 1 to Many Relationship
            Paul Heering

Wim,

Thanks for responding.

It might be the wrong approach but I was trying to get 10 rows was because the main metric here is hours.  If have 3 rows per billing entry the aggregate numbers for hours are off (tripled).

So if I try to look at how much Paul billed on January 1st it will tell me 9 but it was only 3.

Paul

• 3. Re: Getting Duplicate Entries with 1 to Many Relationship
              Wim Kegels

Hi Paul,

I see.  there are several ways to deal with this: