13 Replies Latest reply on Apr 26, 2018 6:19 PM by david tanner

Best Practices? Tableau Sever Site Structure

Luke Johnson

I'm a site admin on a server running several sites.  We are migrating to a new server and are considering modifying the current site structure to operate on a single site.

What are the most important considerations while planning the site structure of a tableau server?  For scale my site has about 150 users.  We have 500+ users across all the sites our on current server (many users access multiple sites.)  We are part of a large organization leveraging tableau server across many functional teams: Sales, Operations, Product, Finance, etc

Is there any good documentation on the subject?

To start of the conversation here are what I see as some pro and cons of using a single sites structure:

Pros:

No user duplication across sites

Users and User groups must be maintained on each site. (Putting as both Pro and Con)

Lends itself to shared data sources (Still possible across sites, just less convenient as it requires signing into each site.)

Cons:

Granting site admin privileges will need to be limited, as admin would be unrestricted. (Currently partitioned by site structure.)

Current site admins likely need to be publishers due to data access, and will lose visibility into native tableau site usage.  

Users and User groups must be maintained on each site.  (Putting as both Pro and Con)

Additional layer of permission and view-ability.  Project > Workbook vs. Site > Project > Workbook

Additional steps to connect to published data source on another site.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Best Practices? Tableau Sever Site Structure
          Patrick A Van Der Hyde

Hello Luke Johnson,