8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 30, 2016 3:39 AM by Laxman Rajagopalan

Time series analysis

Laxman Rajagopalan

Hello,

I am a beginner Tableau user. Need some help with time-series analysis. I can do this in excel easily, but need a few points to make this work in Tableau (10.0.3). Attached is the sales data spreadsheet with the basic pivot tables & graphs. Questions -

1. I am looking to a time-series viz with Sales Vs Years (x-axis) using Category and Geographies as filters.
      2. For the same data, I am looking to do a time series with ratios (sales/total-sales).

I tried many times, but could not get the viz to work like Excel. Any pointers will help.

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Time series analysis
          Sarah Ebreo

Hi Laxman,

To recreate your tables and charts in Tableau first you can pivot the FY fields. To pivot the fields, in the data connection window, highlight the FY 2010 to FY 2016 fields and select Pivot. This will create two new fields, Pivot Field Names (FYs) and Pivot Field Values (Revenues). See the product guide for more info: http://onlinehelp.tableau.com/current/pro/desktop/en-us/help.htm#pivot.html

Once the data has been pivoted, to create the Category Sales ($) graph, drag Pivot Field Names to Columns, Pivot Field Values to Rows, and place Geo onto the Color shelf.

To create the Category Sales (%) graph, duplicate the worksheet then right-click Pivot Field Names on Columns and select Quick Table Calulation > Percent of Total. Then right-click Pivot Field Names again and select Compute Using > Geo.

You can then right-click each worksheet and select Duplicate as Crosstab to get a table view.

See the attached workbook as an example. If you have any questions about this solution, please let me know.

Best,

Sarah

• 2. Re: Time series analysis
            Norbert Maijoor

Hi Sarah,