1 Reply Latest reply on Dec 28, 2016 6:01 PM by diego.medrano

Questions on Printing

Victor Clarke

Hi Guys

I am pretty new to Tableau.

I am using it for a PhD Thesis to present various analyses of a database of information on the Old Kingdom of Egypt, and have some questions on printing output (of course because its a PhD, I need to produce all my output in final printed format, not just give the examiners online access to Vizs).

I have two issues so far in getting the output into a format that I can use in my Phd, as follows:

1.     Printing to PDF

Based on my research on this forum and in the Tableau Help, I have found three main ways to get my output into a form that I can use in my PhD:

• Print Dashboards to Pdf format (use for most analyses)
      • Print WorkSheets to Pdf format
      • Use Apple Cut / Paste command to copy individual graphics, and then capture them as .JPG files for insertion into my Word Document (used for single graphs to be inserted into the text part of my PhD)

I am having a couple of issues in getting certain items to print properly:

• If Dashboards are no more than one page in size, they print perfectly (and most of my Dashboards are very graphical and are designed to be one page). However a few of my dashboards have variable amounts of text and in some cases that goes over one page in length. On screen that is fine, you simply scroll up and down and the extra text becomes visible. However when ever I print, the Dashboard only shows a single page with the scroll bar that you would have when on your computer, but obviously in a PDF you can't scroll down. I cannot get it to print out as multiple pages.
      • My work around for this is to use Worksheets rather than Dashboards for Analyses that are likely to go over one page. This is a partial solution, but is not ideal as: