6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 16, 2016 7:57 AM by Maciek La

Combining data from 2 columns, only for selected data.

Kerry Evert

First, I am new to tableau, so apologies if this is really simple.

I have data in a sql table which has been loaded really stupidly:

one metric is loaded with each department separately (all in 1 column):

metricA_dept01

metricA_dept02

metricA_dept03

for these metrics there the department column is a null.

But another metric which I need to compare with the above data (or at least use in the same graphs etc) has been loaded with a separate column for the department:

metricB

with departments 01, 02 and 03 in a separate field in the data (department column).

I can't use a filter on the graph with the 2 metrics, because then metricA doesn't show

How do I create a calculated field to make the equivalent of metricB_dept01, metricB_dept02 etc.

• 1. Re: Combining data from 2 columns, only for selected data.
          Matthew Risley

Hey, Kerry! Welcome to Tableau.

I think I understand what you are dealing with- but if you could take a snapshot of how the data is currently formatted vs. how you would like it to be formatted that may help us, help you!

It sounds like one of your tables is formatted correctly, while the other is not. Is that correct?

• 2. Re: Combining data from 2 columns, only for selected data.
            Kerry Evert

Hi,

Thanks for your response. The data is all in the same table. The way that the table has been structure is that they have added the metric names in a separate table, which is referenced with a key. This brings back the metric name (the measure in the screen shot below).

I can't show the data, because it is sensitive, but these are the measures:

I have created a calculated field for All Emergency Admissions, which is simply the sum of the bottom 4 measures.