11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 30, 2016 10:50 AM by Rekha Kesavan

Top N By Year

anthony.pierzchalski

Hi,

Forgive me as I'm not an expert and it's been a while since I built a workbook.  I searched and searched and may have even asked previously, but going to try again because this seems so simple and is driving me crazy that I can't figure it out or find..

What I want in the attached is the Top 10 sub category for each individual year and keep it in the format I have it currently.  Please help.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Top N By Year
          Cheryl Grinds

Hi Anthony,

Based on the workbook you provided, it looks like you just need to modify the current filter so it filters based off the top 10 of sales per sub-category.  I've attached an example using the workbook you provided with the modified filter.

Additionally, this article may prove helpful: Finding the Top N Within a Category | Tableau Software

~Cheryl

• 2. Re: Top N By Year
            anthony.pierzchalski

Hi Cheryl,

In the workbook you attached, if I look at 2014, Binders is sorted incorrectly.  I need the top 10 sorted by Sub Category based on sales for each individual year, not sales across the whole data set.  The workbook has the same Sub Category sort for all the years shown and that's not what I'm looking for.

I've tried clicking on the link you sent, but can't seem to get to the article.  The name of the article looks familiar though and the problem I was having with most of the articles I came across is the Year of Order Date isn't a clean cut dimension by itself to create a combined filed along with Sub Category.

Please let me know if you have any additional questions or ideas for me.

Thanks

• 3. Re: Top N By Year
              Rekha Kesavan

Hi Anthony,

Attached is the work book in 10 version. Below are the steps followed to create Top N (Parameter) for sales based on each Year.

1. Create a Calculated field using LOD

2. Create a dynamic set based on parameter input