1 Reply Latest reply on Nov 18, 2016 9:36 AM by Sarah Ebreo

Display a warning/note based on variable selected

Rob Thomson

Hi all,

I am quite new to Tableau but loving the amazing functionality of the platform!

My problem: I would like to display a text warning (in a text box or something) when a particular variable is displayed on a scatterplot.

My situation: I have a dashboard that contains a worksheet, displaying a scatterplot. The Y-axis (a country-level variable) never changes, but users can select which variable to show on the X-axis, from a dropdown box, using a parameter ("Antecedent" in the image below).

tab1.png

For some of these "Antecedent" variable options, I would like for a message to appear in the top right of the scatterplot area, which says something like "NOTE: Latin America doesn't fit the pattern. De-select the Latin America region and see what happens."

I am guessing I need to make a new calculated field for this? The variable selector currently uses this calculated field:

CASE [Parameters].[Antecedent]

WHEN "threat" THEN [THREAT]

WHEN "threat_g" THEN [THREAT_G]

WHEN "disease" THEN [DISEASE]

END

In order to print a warning on the scatterplot, I'd like to be able to use some sort of logic such as:

WHEN "threat" THEN echo("NOTE: Latin America doesn't fit the pattern. De-select the Latin America region and see what happens.")

WHEN "threat_g" THEN do nothing

WHEN "disease" THEN echo("NOTE: Latin America doesn't fit the pattern. De-select the Latin America region and see what happens.")

Can anyone point me to somewhere explaining how I might do this?

Many thanks!

• 1. Re: Display a warning/note based on variable selected
          Sarah Ebreo

Hi Rob,

I created a sample workbook to show how to display a warning when certain values in a quick filter and parameter are selected. Instructions are included below and on Sheet 2 and Dashboard 1 in the attached workbook. Let me know if this helps!

Sarah