1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Nov 18, 2016 1:15 PM by Sam Bloodgood

Help with calculating a group of data

Sam Bloodgood

Help! I am new with Tableau and LOVE it! 

I have a record of our monthly shipments by line item (shipment transaction.) One column contains ship qty of item per shipment.

I want to create a graph that sums total QTY shipped per ITEM (all shipments of that item) and then based on the total shipped per ITEM, which discount group does the ITEM qualify for, and then how many (count) items are per discount group.  I have started one calculated field but I am stuck...

Thanks for any help...

• 1. Re: Help with calculating a group of data
          Simon Runc

hi Sam,

Glad you are enjoying Tableau...it's a pretty awesome bit of kit! (and actually the best thing about it, IMHO, is the Community!!)

So just looking at your Discount Group calculation, and have a question...As you have made it an aggregate calculation (in that the test of which [Ship Qty] get's which discount group, is in a SUM wrapper), it means that the VizLoD (viz Level of Detail) determined how the calcuated field is evaluated (eg, if I remove Item from the columns)

I only have one group...the test is SUM([Ship Qty]) and as I no longer have any Item in the vizLoD this is assessed at the total level (25,387 which is >2500 so we only get the single assignment of 50%). I assume you don't want to have to keep Item in the Viz, and would like this calculation to be a "real" dimension, so you can slide the data up by this?

If that's the case can you let me know at what level you want the various tests assessed at? eg. If it's just at item level, then we'd have the same discount group for every occurance of that item, if it's by shipment, then an item could appear in different discount bands depending how many were ordered in that shipment...if that makes sense?