3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 16, 2016 7:59 AM by Andrew Watson

I need to pick exact values out in a somewhat dynamic way?  Almost like data from an array.  Maybe.

Zachary Robinson

Hello Community,

Tableau ultra noob here.  We just purchased the software 1.5 months ago and I just got back from Tableau conference.  Great time and I learned a bunch, but I'm still having trouble with some calculations for Days Sales Outstanding, Days Inventory outstanding, etc.  I'll get to my problems in a moment, but here is an idea of how the data is laid out:

Jan-12     Feb-12     Mar-12     Apr-12     May-12     Jun-12     Jul-12     Aug-12     Sep-12     Oct-12     Nov-12     Dec-12    

Company 1     Inventory          1               2               3               9               8               5               8          6               8               5               8               3

Company 2     Inventory          1               2               3               9               8               5               8          6               8               5               8               3

Company 3     Inventory          1               2               3               9               8               5               8          6               8               5               8               3

Company 1     COGS               7               6               5               6               9               3               6          8               6               6               8               4

Company 2     COGS               7               6               5               6               9               3               6          8               6               6               8               4

Company 3     COGS               7               6               5               6               9               3               6          8               6               6               8               4

Ignore the actual values, please.