4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 11, 2016 6:16 PM by Shinichiro Murakami

Create category for visits who fit in multiple categories

Joshua Taylor

I work in health care and we need to categorize historical visits into one of a few categories based on the procedure code(s) the invoice contains.

A single visit visit can fall into multiple categories based on the procedure codes associated with the visit. I need the formula to obey the following categorical hierarchy

1.Urgent care

2.Physicals

3.Labs and Diagnostics

4.Injections, Immunizations, and Vaccines

5.Transactions only

6.Other

7.Misplaced

If it falls in 1, it can't show up in 2-7

I tried using the following:

****************************************************************************************************************************

IF

CONTAINS([Procedure Code_visit Categories],"UC")=TRUE

THEN

"Urgent Care"

ELSEIF    

CONTAINS([Procedure Code_visit Categories],"UC")=FALSE and

CONTAINS([Procedure Code_visit Categories],"Physicals")=TRUE

THEN

"Physicals" 

****************************************************************************************************************************

I got the same result for Physicals with or without the bolded red portion of the formula.

• 1. Re: Create category for visits who fit in multiple categories
          Michael Hesser

Hi Joshua;

You're getting the same values because you're  restating your primary Boolean check.

The logic in red is unnecessary because in order to make it to that check, your Procedure Code must not be "UC". Think of it as saying:

IF it's an APPLE it's an APPLE

ELSE if it's NOT an APPLE, and it's an ORANGE, it's an ORANGE.

We don't ever need to check if it's "not an APPLE" because it will only make it to that check if its not an APPLE

Set your code up in the hierarchical order you need (check for Urgent Care first, then Physicals, and so on). That should give you the results you need.

Please note: