2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 20, 2016 6:00 PM by Bowen CAI

Customer Segmentation

Bowen CAI

Dear All,

I am a newbie here, currently I want to get the customers who bought a item in previously but not in this year. Anyone know how to achieve that? Thanks.

And I have 7 years transactional data in hand. Thanks

Regards,

Bowen

• 1. Re: Customer Segmentation
          Chris Geatch

Without having all of the information about what you're trying to display, I can only give you a simple example.

I've used 3 fields:  Customer ID, Purchase Date, and Amount.

A basic formula might be:

YEAR(MIN([Purchase Date])) < YEAR(NOW())

That works only as long as you haven't filtered out any of your data, it only does the calculation on the data present after you've filtered it.  This is something to watch out for as a new user.

What I've done in the attached workbook is to use the FIXED function.

{FIXED [Customer ID]: MIN([Purchase Date])}

That function does the calculation using all of the data for the field(s) specified.  So, in this case, it looks at the whole list of customer IDs, ignoring any filters on that field, and chooses the minimum purchase date, then uses that in the comparison instead.

Like I said, this is a simple example.  Once you start adding in other display dimensions and filters to your visualisation, it can get more complicated, but hopefully this gives you an idea.  It might be helpful for you to read about the INCLUDE and EXCLUDE functions as well.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Customer Segmentation
            Bowen CAI

Hi Chris,