13 Replies Latest reply on Sep 30, 2016 1:36 AM by Simon Runc

Visualising TV Broadcast Dates - time on both axes?...

JP Kelly

Hi all,

I'm very new to tableau (so go easy on me). I'm an academic (working mostly in television studies) so a lot of the science behind this is pretty alien to me.

With that disclaimer out of the way, I have a query that I'm hoping the community can help me with (in layman terms if you please!) I'm creating a visualisation to depict the broadcast dates of TV drama 24 - specifically the differences between the US and the UK broadcast dates. What I'm trying to demonstrate with this visualisation is that the UK gradually caught up with the US broadcasts (it started as a several month gap for the first season, and was down to a day or two by the final season). This is actually pretty simple to do - even for a newbie such as myself. I've created a simple visualisation with time on the y-axis (2001-2010) and episodes on the x-axis (1-24) [see attached gif]. Both US and UK episodes are plotted - the narrower the gap between them, the shorter the space in time there was between their US and UK broadcast respectively (still with me?)

Here's where I get stumped - and it might be more of a conceptual / best practice issue rather than a technical one. I also want to demonstrate (in the same visualisation) that the span of the broadcast (the difference in time between the first and last episode of each season) also decreased over time. I.e. season one ran from early Nov to late May (approx 7-8 months), but from season four onwards they generally ran from January to May (approx 4-5 months).

I can picture the visualisation in my mind quite clearly - it would look somewhat like the attached gif, but with the spread of episodes on the y-axis becoming shorter as time went on.

Apologies if I haven't explained this clearly, but I'd really appreciate any tips or suggestions! Also happy to upload the data / viz if that helps.

Thanks in advance.

JP