4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 12, 2016 8:04 AM by Nicholas Vining

Only Show Last Month of a Filter but Preserve Table Calculation

Nicholas Vining

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to Tableau and trying to figure out how to show only the last month of a date range while preserving the table calculation. 

Here's the set-up: I'm calculating the percent difference in traffic for 5 sites across a 3 month period.  There are 19 different traffic categories so I'm calculating the percent difference for all categories and then ranking them and displaying the top category.  I only want to show the last month so I just hide the other 2 months to preserve the table calc.  My problem is that if I alter the date range so that the last month is different those months are hidden and don't show up.  I've tried using [Monthcodes] == { FIXED: max([Monthcodes]) } but then the table calculation is invalid. 

Any help is much appreciated! 

Thanks,

Nick

• 1. Re: Only Show Last Month of a Filter but Preserve Table Calculation
          Alastair Young

Nicholas,

Without an example workbook this may be difficult to provide much help, However I believe I understand your problem.

When you apply the hide, this would be hiding specific values like month names/numbers and thus when you move the date range it subsequently shows or drops these out accordingly. 

What may be worth trying is to have a calculated field to provide a 'Current Month' and 'Previous Months' result  Extract the month value from your date selector or date range and assign this as your 'Current Month', with the two months prior to this value as your 'Previous Months' . When you drop this onto your workbook, you will see them segmented. This is when you can apply the hide to the 'Previous Months' result.

Obviously this may have some affect on your current workbook, as well as the majority of your calculations however this allows the workbook to be dynamic against the date range.