5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 19, 2016 9:44 AM by Joe Oppelt

Urgent : data for selected date range up to n months back

Suresh Bandela

Hi Tableau community !

I am a newbie to tableau and at the moment trying to solve a problem.

Briefly the problem is :

1. I want to display data for selected date range up to n months back.

A scenario, the values should be displayed for the same date range for months ( N periods back ) i.e... if i select 01/08/16 - 09/08/16 and n periods back 2 then i should have the previous period values for 01/07/16- 09/07/16 and 01/06/16 -09/06/16.

At the moment the correct values are displayed only if n period back = 1 and for the rest of values it gives back the total month values. Couldn't figure out whats going wrong here

Am using this Logic :

IF [N Periods Back ] = 1 and

[Date] >= dateadd([Comparison Period],-[N Periods Back ],[Start Date]) and [Date]<= dateadd([Comparison Period],-([N Periods Back ]),[End Date]) then [Channel costs]

ELSEIF [N Periods Back ] = 2 and

[Date] >= dateadd([Comparison Period],-[N Periods Back ],[Start Date]) and [Date]<= dateadd([Comparison Period],-([N Periods Back ]-1),[End Date]) then [Channel costs]

ELSEIF  [N Periods Back ] = 3 and

[Date] >= dateadd([Comparison Period],-[N Periods Back ],[Start Date]) and [Date]<= dateadd([Comparison Period],-([N Periods Back ]-2),[End Date]) then [Channel costs]

END

Could you please help me out with this ?

Thanks !

• 1. Re: Urgent : data for selected date range up to n months back
          Luciano Vasconcelos

Good morning.

I started but i got stuck.

Can you help on this John Sobczak, Shinichiro Murakami, Joe Oppelt?

Regards.

• 2. Re: Urgent : data for selected date range up to n months back
            Joe Oppelt

I'm looking at this, and I need some more clarity.