12 Replies Latest reply on Aug 15, 2016 8:49 AM by Suvojit Basu

Question on Distinct Count based on a specific condition

Suvojit Basu

Hi All,

I'm a beginner on Tableau and have a question on distinct count based on a specific condition. I'm working on a data file which essentially has pricing data on products. The data has fields like Product ID, Product description, Store ID, Audit Data, Price. I want to create a table which has products in rows and 3 columns where I want to calculate number of stores where price is less than, equal to, and more than a specified price. The "specified price" could be drawn from a separate table which has my 'ideal price point' (joined with my data table on product ID) OR it could be the average price of the product across all stores. The table could look like this. I also intend to put date as filter for the user to have the ability to look at different periods.

Product
      # Stores where Price < 'Specified Price'# Stores where Price = 'Specified Price'# Stores where Price > 'Specified Price'Total # Stores
      Axyzx+y+z
      Babca+b+c
      Cklmk+l+m

I want to express these values (x, y, z etc.) as distinct count of number of stores that satisfy the pricing criterion both as actual number of stores and % of stores.

I think this is a simple problem but I'm a beginner and can't seem to crack it. I've tried calculated fields and table calculations but clearly not being able to crack it.

Appreciate if someone can help me please.

Many thanks in advance!

Attaching a twbx and excel file with sample data. Thanks

• 1. Re: Question on Distinct Count based on a specific condition
          Tom W

COUNTD(IF [Price] < [Ideal Price Point] THEN [Store ID] END)

• 2. Re: Question on Distinct Count based on a specific condition
            Elavar sevvel

It would be good, if you can share the twbx file or the data sources in excel so that we can connect it to the tableau and execute and show you the  results.